Lucas Di Grassi Wins Formula E Championship in Third Season

He trumped last year’s winner Sebastian Buemi in Montreal.

byCaleb JacobsJul 31, 2017 1:28 PM
Lucas Di Grassi Wins Formula E Championship in Third Season

After a hectic weekend in Montreal, Audi Sport Abt driver Lucas Di Grassi has won the 2017 Formula E Championship. His battle with last year's winner, Sebastian Buemi, came down to the wire after a tightly contested season with everything playing out in Di Grassi's favor. He is the third unique winner in the series' third season, joining fellow countryman Nelson Piquet as the second Brazilian driver to capture the title.

Di Grassi finished seventh in Saturday's race, pushing his overall total to 181 points. He trailed the lead by 10 points coming into the weekend, but after Buemi suffered a disqualification and failed to earn points, he lost his edge on the 32 year old. Buemi also missed two races this season due to World Endurance Championship commitments which put him at a further disadvantage. 

“I’ve no regrets at all with my performance, I think I have done a good job,” Buemi noted in a report from Motorsport. “When you get disqualified twice and lose 22 points, plus miss two races in a championship which only counts 12 races, what do you do?"

Over the course of 2017, Di Grassi only won two races in comparison to Buemi's six victories. Regardless of that, he was obviously excited to have finally won the championship after finishing third in Formula E's inaugural season and second last year.

"After two close seasons we finally made it," he said. "I'm so proud of my team and myself."